Irish Book Awards

Supported by

  • Irish Independent
  • Sunday Independent
  • Specsavers
  • Ireland AM
  • Listowel Writers’ Week
  • RTÉ Offical Media Partner
  • Bookselling Ireland
  • Dept 51 @ Eason
  • Avoca
  • National Book Awards
  • Eason

Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards winners announced!

November 26, 2014

Brian O’ Driscoll, Graham Norton, Cecelia Ahern and Majella O’ Donnell were some of the winners named at the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards 2014 held in Dublin this evening.

Renowned contemporary Irish poet Paul Durcan was presented with the Bob Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award 2014 by Paula Meehan, Ireland Professor of Poetry, while bestselling author Jeffrey Archer was presented with the inaugural International Recognition Award by broadcaster George Hook.

Academy St by first time novelist Mary Costello beat off stiff competition in the Eason Novel of the Year category which featured literary heavyweights John Boyne, David Mitchell, Colm Tóibín, Joseph O’ Conor and John Kelly.

Celebrating the best Irish writing of 2014, the star-studded awards ceremony took place in the Dublin’s Double Tree Hilton and was attended by Roddy Doyle, Damien Dempsey, Anthony ‘Dalo’ Daly, Rachel and Isaac Allen, Majella and Daniel O’ Donnell, Paul Galvin and Louise Duffy, actor and writer Eoin Macken, David and Stephen Flynn aka the Happy Pear twins, Susan Jane White, John Kelly, Donal Ryan and Kevin Dundon.

The event was hosted by RTÉ’s Keelin Shanley and awards were presented by John Murray from RTÉ Radio 1, TV presenters Sinead Desmond and Brendan O’ Connor, along with children’s writer Eoin Colfer. After each winner received their award, they were then interviewed by RTÉ’s Evelyn O’ Rourke in the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards ‘Green Room’. These interviews, along with highlights from the awards ceremony, will be aired on RTÉ Television on the evening of Saturday 29 November.

From 27 November 2014 the public can vote for their overall ‘Bord Gáis Energy Book of the Year’ on the Awards website. Voting is open until midnight on Thursday 4 December. Everyone that votes will be entered into a draw to win €100 of National Book Tokens. Last year’s winner was Michael Harding for his hugely successful memoir Staring at Lakes.

The full list of winners in the ‘Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards 2014’ are:

Eason Novel of the Year: • Academy St by Mary Costello (Canongate)

Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year: • Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill (Quercus)

RTÉ Radio 1’s John Murray Show Listeners’ Choice Award: • It’s All in the Head by Majella O’Donnell (Simon &Schuster)

Ireland AM Crime Fiction Book of the Year: • Unravelling Oliver by Liz Nugent (Penguin Ireland)

Avonmore Cookbook of the Year: • The Nation’s Favourite Food Fast by Neven Maguire (Gill &Macmillan)

National Book Tokens Non-Fiction Book of the Year: • The Life and Loves of a He Devil by Graham Norton (Hodder & Stoughton)

Books Are My Bag Popular Fiction Book of the Year: • The Year I Met You by Cecelia Ahern (HarperCollins)

Bord Gáis Energy Sports Book of the Year: • The Test by Brian O’Driscoll (Penguin Ireland) Best Irish Published Book of the Year: • Dubliners 100: by Thomas Morris (Tramp Press)

Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year: Junior
• Shh! We Have a Plan by Chris Haughton (Walker Books)

Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year: Senior
• Moone Boy by Chris O’Dowd and Nick Vincent Murphy (Macmillan Children’s Books) Short Story of the Year: • Rest Day by John Boyne (The Irish Times)

Chairman of the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards, John Treacy, said: “These fantastic award winners represent the very best Irish books published this year. They reflect a highly vibrant and creative community and are a wonderful example of Irish writing and publishing at its very best. All winning titles will also make extremely rewarding gifts this Christmas! To task now is to identify which of these winning titles will be crowned the ‘Bord Gáis Energy Book of the Year’. The public are asked to vote for their favourite by going to and we will announce the deserving winner on the 5th December.”

David Kirwan, Managing Director at Bord Gáis Energy, commented: “In the five years that we have been the sponsor of the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards, it’s been fantastic to see it going from strength to strength and now it forms a significant part of the Irish literary calendar. These awards celebrate and promote the indigenous jewel that is Irish writing and I’d like to congratulate all the winners and wish them continued success.”