Irish Book Awards

Supported by

  • Avoca
  • Bookselling Ireland
  • Dept 51 @ Eason
  • Listowel Writers’ Week
  • National Book Awards
  • Specsavers
  • Eason
  • Ireland AM
  • Irish Independent
  • RTÉ Offical Media Partner
  • Sunday Independent

Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year, Junior

The Children’s Awards were created in the first Irish Book Awards expansion of 2006 under the sponsorship of The Dublin Airport Authority. In 2011 DAA was supplanted by  Ireland’s family optician Specsavers who have a strong track record of supporting books and reading in the UK. The childrens’ award is split into junior and senior categories and regularly produces wonderfully deserving winners.

Previous Winners:

  • 2014 Shh! We Have a Plan by Chris Haughton
  • 2013 When You Were Born by Benji Bennett
  • 2012 This Moose Belongs to Me by Oliver Jeffers
  • 2011 The Lonely Beast by Chris Judge
  • 2010  On the Road with Mavis and Marge by Niamh Sharkey
  • 2009  Before You Sleep by Benji Bennett
  • 2008  The Story of Ireland by Brendan O’Brien
  • 2007  The Incredible Book-eating Boy by Oliver Jeffers

Click here for Eligibility guidelines