Audience Choice Award

Audience Choice Award

About the award

Five of the nation’s top RTÉ presenters – Joe Duffy, Ray D’Arcy, Zainab Boladale, Doireann Garrihy, and Sean Rocks – choose a favourite title to champion in The RTÉ Audience Choice category.  These five titles then form the shortlist to be voted upon by members of the public.

Sponsored by

The Shortlist 2021

Your One Wild and Precious Life
Dr Maureen Gaffney
Ann Ingle
Nuala O'Connor
Nanny, Ma & Me
Jade, Dominique & Kathleen Jordan
As The Smoke Clears
Zoe Holohan

RTÉ Radio 1 Listeners' Choice Award 2020

A Light That Never Goes Out

By Keelin Shanley

When Keelin Shanley passed away in February aged 51, it was hard to grasp that someone so filled with life was gone. Keelin reveals with real honesty what it’s like to keep living your life and having a career while dealing with the challenges of cancer treatment. Written with the help of Alison Walsh and completed posthumously by Keelin’s husband Conor Ferguson, A Light That Never Goes Out is a remarkable story of courage and resilience.

by Joseph O’Connor
Normal People
by Sally Rooney
Midwinter Break
by Bernard MacLaverty
Solar Bones
by Mike McCormack

Previous Winners

(Category previously titled RTÉ Radio One Listeners' Choice Book of the Year)

2020 – A Light that Never Goes Out by Keelin Shanley

2019 – Overcoming by Vicky Phelan with Naomi Lineham

2018 – Skin Deep 
by Liz Nugent

2017 – he: A novel 
by John Connolly

2016 – Lying In Wait 
by Liz Nugent

2015 – Irelandopedia 
by Fatti & John Burke

2014 –  It’s All In The Head 
by Majella O’Donnell

2013 – Staring at Lakes 
by Michael Harding

2012 – Just Mary 
by Mary O’Rourke

2011 – How To Be A Woman 
by Caitlin Moran

2010 – Come What May 
by Dónal Óg Cusack

2009 – The Secret Scripture 
by Sebastian Barry

2008 – Judging Dev 
by Diarmaid Ferriter

2007 – The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne


Vote for your favourite books by following the link below & you could win €100 of National Book Tokens