Children’s Book of the Year (Senior)


Children’s Book of the Year (Senior)

About The Award

The Children’s Awards were created in the first Irish Book Awards expansion of 2006. The children’s awards are split into three categories: junior, senior, and Teen & Young Adult. The senior category is aimed at readers aged 8-12 years.

Sponsored by

The 2021 Shortlist

The Shadows of Rookhaven
Pádraig Kenny
The Little Bee Charmer of Henrietta Street
Sarah Webb
The Summer I Robbed A Bank
David O’Doherty
Mr Spicebag
Freddie Alexander
Lily’s Dream
Judi Curtin
Aldrin Adams and the Cheese Nightmares
Paul Howard

Specsavers Children's Book of the Year - Senior 2020

Break The Mould

By Sinéad Burke, Illustrated by Natalie Byrne

Break the Mould with Sinéad Burke – teacher, activist, author and little person.

Sometimes we can feel like we are not good enough. That we don’t belong. Or that we want to be more like our friends. In this empowering guide, Sinéad Burke draws on her own experiences and encourages young readers to believe in themselves, have pride in who they are and use their voice to make the world a fairer, more inclusive place.

From the power of being different, to celebrating the things you love about yourself and helping others do the same, this is a brilliantly inspirational handbook for breaking the mould and finding your place in the world.

Break the Mould Sinéad Burke
by Joseph O’Connor
Normal People
by Sally Rooney
Midwinter Break
by Bernard MacLaverty
Solar Bones
by Mike McCormack

Previous Winners

2020 – Break the Mould by Sinéad Burke, illustrated by Natalie Byrne

2019 – Shooting for the Stars by Norah Patten, illustrated by Jennifer Farley

2018 –  Blazing a Trail by Sarah Webb and Lauren O’Neill

2017 – Stand by Me by Judi Curtin

2016 – Knights of the Borrowed Dark by Dave Rudden

2015 – Asking For It by by Louise O’Neill

2014 – Moone Boy by Chris O’Dowd & Nick V. Murphy

2013 – Skulduggery Pleasant: Last Stand of Dead Men by Derek Landy

2012 – Artemis Fowl: The Last Guardian by Eoin Colfer

2011 – The Real Rebecca by Anna Carey

2010 – Skulduggery Pleasant: Mortal Coil by Derek Landy

2009 – Skulduggery Pleasant: Playing with Fire by Derek Landy

2008 – Wilderness by Roddy Doyle

2007 – The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne

2006 – The New Policeman by Kate Thompson


Vote for your favourite books by following the link below & you could win €100 of National Book Tokens