Keelin Shanley, Graham Norton, and Professor Luke O’Neill were among the winning authors at this year’s An Post Irish Book Awards.

Keelin Shanley, Graham Norton, and Professor Luke O’Neill were among the winning authors at this year’s An Post Irish Book Awards, held virtually on this evening. Dara McAnulty and Sinéad Burke claimed victory with their debut books, while the Novel of the Year Award was won by Donal Ryan.

This year’s Awards attracted a record number of votes from the Irish public, and, for the first time ever, audiences around the world were able to watch the An Post Irish Book Awards ceremony as it happened on If you missed the Awards, you can still watch! we have the whole ceremony on the homepage of this website.

First awarded in 2006, the An Post Irish Book Awards showcase a diverse mix of exceptional writing from new and established writers across sixteen categories, with this year’s awards ceremony taking place online due to the global pandemic. The Awards are Ireland’s biggest literary celebration, championing everything from novels and non-fiction to poetry, short stories and the Irish language.

This year’s awards ceremony was hosted by Evelyn O’Rourke, while the overall winner of the An Post Irish Book of the Year, will be unveiled in a television programme, presented by Miriam O Callaghan, on RTÉ One at 10.15pm on Thursday, 10th December.

Below is the full list of winners for the An Post Irish Book Awards 2020:

RTÉ Radio 1 Listeners’ Choice Award
  • A Light That Never Goes Out – Keelin Shanley (Gill Books)
Bord Gáis Energy Sports Book of the Year
  • Champagne Football – Mark Tighe & Paul Rowan (Sandycove)
Bookselling Ireland Cookbook of the Year
  • Neven Maguire’s Midweek Meals in Minutes – Neven Maguire (Gill Books)
Irish Independent Crime Fiction Book of the Year
  • After the Silence – Louise O’Neill (Quercus)
Odgers Berndtson Non-Fiction Book of the Year in association with The Business Post
  • A Ghost in the Throat – Doireann Ní Ghríofa (Tramp Press) Best Irish-Published Book of the Year
  • Old Ireland in Colour – John Breslin & Dr Sarah-Anne Buckley (Merrion Press)
Love Leabhar Gaeilge Irish Language Book of the Year
  • Cnámh – Eoghan Mac Giolla Bhríde (Éabhlóid)
Dept51@Eason Teen & Young Adult Book of the Year
  • Savage Her Reply – Deirdre Sullivan, illustrated by Karen Vaughan (Little Island Books)
Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year – Senior
  • Break the Mould – Sinéad Burke, illustrated by Natalie Byrne (Hachette Children’s Books – Imprint: Wren & Rook)
Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year – Junior
  • The Great Irish Farm Book – Darragh McCullough, illustrated by Sally Caulwell (Gill Books)
Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year
  • Diary of a Young Naturalist – Dara McAnulty, (Little Toller Books)
National Book Tokens Popular Fiction Book of the Year
  • Home Stretch – Graham Norton (Coronet, Hodder & Stoughton)
Listowel Writers’ Week Irish Poem of the Year
  • In the Museum of Misremembered Things – Linda McKenna (In the Museum of Misremembered Things published by Doire Press) Short Story of the Year Award
  • I Ate It All And I Really Thought I Wouldn’t – Caoilinn Hughes (LitHub)
Ireland AM Popular Non-Fiction Book of the Year
  • Never Mind the Boll***s, Here’s the Science – Luke O’Neill (Gill Books)
Eason Novel of the Year
  • Strange Flowers – Donal Ryan (Doubleday Ireland)

Commenting on this year’s winners, John Treacy, Chairperson of the An Post Irish Book Awards, said“On behalf of the board of the Irish Book Awards, I’d like to congratulate all of the winning authors. Their work represents the very best of Irish writing and in a difficult year their books have brought readers great comfort and inspiration. Let’s also consider Irish booksellers who have suffered greatly during the lockdowns and carried on regardless.

“Ireland is blessed with many wonderful bookshops, chains and independents, so this Christmas, I would urge readers to visit their local bookshops. Irish writers, Irish readers, Irish bookshops – there’s an alliance we can all get behind.”

Debbie Byrne, Managing Director of An Post Retail, said:

“On behalf of the team in An Post, I’d like to congratulate all the winning authors, illustrators, poets and publishers celebrated here tonight. This year more than ever has reminded us of the great enjoyment and benefits reading offers. Books allow us to experience the pleasure of reading, opening up a world of fun, enjoyment and learning for children, young people and adults. An Post has long been associated with literacy and is immensely proud to both support and promote the Irish Book Awards. So a big thank you to all our short listed nominees and winners for giving us the pleasure and escapism  of a good book and such wonderful stories and illustrations.”

“Throughout the year, we have been very proud to be able to support independent Irish booksellers as they moved their business online, we look forward to continuing this support in the run-up to Christmas. We hope that every Christmas stocking across the country will contain a book!”

Peter Woods, Head of RTÉ Radio 1, said:

“The response from our listeners to the An Post Irish Book Awards and to our RTÉ Radio 1 Listeners’ Choice Award has been really positive again this year. In a difficult year in which Keelin passed away, I am really happy that our listeners voted for ‘A Light That Never Goes Out’, as are my colleagues in RTÉ who knew and loved Keelin. Thanks to our five RTÉ Radio 1 presenters who selected such great books and congratulations to all the winners.”

Voting is now open for An Post Irish Book of the Year!

The winner will be announced in a TV show on RTÉ One on 10th December, and hosted by Miriam O’Callaghan. Cast your vote for the An Post Irish Book of the Year at – all voters are in with a chance of winning €100 worth of National Book Tokens!

Previous winners of the An Post Irish Book of the Year include Vicky Phelan for Overcoming, Emilie Pine for Notes to Self, John Crowley, Donal Ó Drisceoil, Mike Murphy and John Borgonovo for Atlas of the Irish Revolution, Mike McCormack for Solar Bones, Louise O’Neill for Asking For It, Mary Costello for Academy St, Donal Ryan for The Spinning Heart, Michael Harding for Staring at Lakes, and Belinda McKeon for Solace.

Read next...

An Post Irish Book Awards pays tribute to Thomas Kinsella

Thomas Kinsella the 2018 recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award Tribute

An Post Irish Book of the Year 2021 announced

‘We Don’t Know Ourselves: A Personal History of Ireland since 1958’ by Fintan O’Toole named as the An Post Irish Book of the Year 2021