Eason Sports Book of the Year, in association with Ireland AM

Winner 2021

Fight or Flight

By Keith Earls

With - Tommy Conlon

My Life, My Choices

Keith Earls collaborated with Tommy Conlon on his autobiography. Conlon is a sportswriter with the Sunday Independent and the co-author of three previous autobiographies. A native of Ballinamore, Co. Leitrim, he has lived in Limerick for many years and is a match day regular at the city’s famous venues – Thomond Park, the Gaelic Grounds and the Markets Field.

About Keith Earls...

Keith Earls has become one of the most admired and respected players of his generation. A British & Irish Lion, he is still playing at the top of his game for Ireland and in the famous red of Munster. A lethal finisher blessed with a sprinter’s speed, Earls is the second-highest try scorer of all time for his country. Yet, Earls has achieved these milestones whilst being racked by private battles with his mental health for most of his career. His natural talent brought him into the privileged bastion of elite rugby union and this honest, inspirational autobiography tells the story of his long struggle to reconcile those two worlds. Fight Or Flight: My Life, My Choices is a confessional, intimate and courageous story of the pain that was a constant companion to the glory.

Explore the 2021 winners

Teen & Young Adult Book of the Year
Listowel Writers' Week Poem of the Year
Writing.ie Short Story of the Year
Eason Novel of the Year
National Book Tokens Popular Fiction Book of the Year
Irish Independent Crime Fiction Book of the Year
Specsavers Children's Book of the Year (Senior)
Specsavers Children's Book of the Year (Junior)
Library Association of Ireland Author of the Year
Love Leabhar Gaeilge Irish Language Book of the Year
TheJournal.ie Best Irish Published Book of the Year
Odgers Berndtson Non-Fiction Book of the Year
Dubray Biography of the Year
Bookstation Lifestyle Book of the Year
Bookselling Ireland Cookbook of the Year
Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year
RTÉ Audience Choice Award