National Book Tokens

Popular Fiction Book of the Year

NAtionAl Book Tokens

Popular Fiction Book of the Year

About the award

Since the late great Maeve Binchy first blazed the trail, Irish authors have built an international reputation for excellence in the genre of popular fiction, and the increasing number of emerging writers suggest that the dominance is likely to continue.

Sponsored by

The Shortlist 2021

Three Weddings and a Proposal
Sheila O'Flanagan
The Guinness Girls
Emily Hourican
Normal Sheeple
Ross O'Carroll-Kelly
Cecelia Ahern
Aisling and The City
Emer McLysaght and Sarah Breen
About Us
Sinéad Moriarty

The National Book Tokens Popular Fiction Book of the Year 2020

Home Stretch

By Graham Norton

Shame and longing can flow through generations, but the secrets of the heart will not be buried for ever.

It is 1987 and a small Irish community is preparing for a wedding. The day before the ceremony a group of  young friends, including bride and groom, drive out to the beach. There is an accident. Three survive, but three are killed.

by Joseph O’Connor
Normal People
by Sally Rooney
Midwinter Break
by Bernard MacLaverty
Solar Bones
by Mike McCormack

Previous Winners

2020 – Home Stretch by Graham Norton

2019 –  Once, Twice, Three Times an Aisling by Emer McLysaght and Sarah Breen

2018 – The Importance of Being Aisling by Emer McLysaght and Sarah Breen

2017 – The Break by Marian Keyes

2016 – Holding by Graham Norton

2015 – The Way We Were by Sinéad Moriarty

2014 – The Year I Met You by Cecelia Ahern

2013 – Downturn Abbey by Ross O’Carroll Kelly

2012 – A Week in Winter by Maeve Binchy

2011 – All For You by Sheila O’Flanagan

2010 – The Oh My God Delusion by Ross O’Carroll Kelly

2009 – This Charming Man by Marian Keyes

2008 – Take A Look At Me Now by Anita Notaro

2007 – Should Have Got Off at Sydney Parade by Ross O’Carroll Kelly


Vote for your favourite books by following the link below & you could win €100 of National Book Tokens