Best Irish Published Book of the Year


Best Irish Published Book of the Year

About the award Best Irish-published award was set up to reward the excellence of native publishing and submitted titles must therefore emanate from an Irish-based publishing house including the Dublin offices of the major UK publishing houses.

Sponsored by

The 2021 Shortlist

Rosaleen McDonagh
Tree Dogs, Banshee Fingers and Other Irish Words for Nature
Manchán Magan
The Presidents’ Letters
Flor MacCarthy
The Coastal Atlas of Ireland
Robert Devoy, Val Cummins, Barry Brunt, Darius Bartlett & Sarah Kandrot
Tea for One
Alice Taylor
Look! It’s a Woman Writer!
Éilís Ní Dhuibhne
Sophie White Best Irish Published Book of the Year 2020

Old Ireland in Colour

By John Breslin & Dr Sarah-anne Buckley
Old Ireland in Colour celebrates the rich history of Ireland and the Irish through the colour restoration of stunning images of all walks of Irish life, and the Irish abroad, throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. From the chaos of the Civil War to the simple beauty of the islands, each image has been exquisitely transformed and every page is bursting with life.

Previous Winners

2020 – Old Ireland in Colour by John Breslin & Dr Sarah-Anne Buckley

2019 – Children of the Troubles by Joe Duffy & Freya McClements

2018 – Lighthouses of Ireland by Roger O’Reilly

2017 – Atlas of the Irish Revolution by John Crowley, Donál Ó Drisceoil, Mike Murphy and John Borgonovo

2016 – The Glass Shore by Sinéad Gleeson (Editor)

2015 – The Long Gaze Back by Sinéad Gleeson (Editor)

2014 – Dubliners 100 by Thomas Morris (Editor)

2013 –  A History Of Ireland in 100 Objects by Fintan O’Toole

2012 – Atlas of the Great Irish Famine by John Crowley, William J. Smyth and Mike Murphy

2011 – Connemara by Tim Robinson

2010 – Good Mood Food by Donal Skehan

2009 – The Parish by Alice Taylor

2008 –  Judging Dev by Diarmaid Ferriter

2007 – Lifelines by Niall McMonagle (Editor)


Vote for your favourite books by following the link below & you could win €100 of National Book Tokens