Specsavers Children's Book of the Year (Senior)

Winner 2023

I Am the Wind

I am the Wind

By Lucinda Jacob and Sarah Webb

Illustrator - Ashwin Chacko

Irish Poems for Children Everywhere

Discover brilliant new poems and revisit old favourites in this joyously illustrated collection of children’s poems from Ireland


You’ll find thoughtful, surprising and powerful poems here. Poems about love and skateboarding, about feeling lonely and making friends, about jellyfish, magic, school, snowdrops, monsters, blackbirds… and lots, lots more. 


All chosen with love by acclaimed children’s poet Lucinda Jacob and award-winning children’s writer and bookseller Sarah Webb. A book to treasure now and always. 

About Lucinda Jacob and Sarah Webb ...

Lucinda Jacob is an Irish writer and librarian who writes poetry and stories for children. Her books include Hopscotch in the Sky (Little Island, illus. Lauren O’Neill), Climate SOS! and Guzzler’s Party (Sustainable Energy Authority Ireland, illus. by Alan Nolan). 


Sarah Webb is an award-winning Irish children’s writer. Her books include Blazing a Trail: Irish Women who Changed the World (illus. Lauren O’Neill) and A Sailor Went to Sea, Sea, Sea: Favourite Rhymes from an Irish Childhood (illus. Steve McCarthy), both winners of Irish Book Awards. She is also Events Manager at Halfway up the Stairs children’s bookshop in Greystones, Co Wicklow and runs creative writing clubs for young writers.


Ashwin Chacko is an Indian Irish author, illustrator, and motivational speaker based in Dublin.  He specializes in positively playful, visual storytelling to bring joy and encouragement.  His mission is to champion creativity and empower people to find their inner spark through his art, books, talks & workshops. Author of: Keep At It, Little Optimist, Everybody Feels Fear, A Little Book about Justice, What Wondrous Shapes We Are, and Wild City 

Explore the 2023 winners

TheJournal.ie Best Irish Published Book of the Year
Bookstation Lifestyle Book of the Year
Cookbook of the Year
Eason Sports Book of the Year, in association with Ireland AM
Dubray Non-Fiction Book of the Year
Bookselling Ireland Biography of the Year
The Last Word Listeners' Choice Award
Specsavers Children's Book of the Year (Junior)
International Education Services Teen & Young Adult Book of the Year, in honour of John Treacy
An Post Irish Bookshop of the Year
Foras na Gaeilge Irish Language Fiction Book of the Year Award
Writing.ie Short Story of the Year
Irish Independent Crime Fiction Book of the Year
National Book Tokens Popular Fiction Book of the Year
Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year
Library Association of Ireland Author of the Year
Eason Novel of the Year
Listowel Writers' Week Poem of the Year