Best Irish Published Book of the Year

Winner 2023


Sunday Miscellany

By Sarah Binchy

A Selection 2018-2023

RTÉ Radio 1’s Sunday Miscellany is an Irish institution, a programme that has provided comfort, joy and entertainment to hundreds of thousands of listeners for over half a century. Arranged in calendar months and spanning the seasons of the year, some of the best broadcasts from the last five years are collected here in one volume. This sparkling selection of writing by the best of new, established and household names is sure to amuse, move and delight readers of all ages. 


Featuring: Colm Tóibín, Niamh Campbell, Joseph O’Connor, Louise Kennedy, John F. Deane, Susan McKay, Nicole Flattery, Donal Ryan, Manchán Magan, Rosaleen McDonagh , Lisa McInerney, and many more… 

About Sarah Binchy ...

An award-winning radio producer, Sarah Binchy has worked on arts, documentaries and current affairs programmes; she currently produces Sunday Miscellany on RTÉRadio1. HerwritinghasappearedinThe Observer,The Irish Times, Sunday Independent, Irish Tatler,Imageand Tiny Plays for Ireland. Shelivesin Dublin with her husband, Conall Morrison. 

Explore the 2023 winners

Dubray Non-Fiction Book of the Year
Bookstation Lifestyle Book of the Year
Cookbook of the Year
Eason Sports Book of the Year, in association with Ireland AM
Bookselling Ireland Biography of the Year
The Last Word Listeners' Choice Award
Specsavers Children's Book of the Year (Junior)
Specsavers Children's Book of the Year (Senior)
International Education Services Teen & Young Adult Book of the Year, in honour of John Treacy
An Post Irish Bookshop of the Year
Foras na Gaeilge Irish Language Fiction Book of the Year Award Short Story of the Year
Irish Independent Crime Fiction Book of the Year
National Book Tokens Popular Fiction Book of the Year
Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year
Library Association of Ireland Author of the Year
Eason Novel of the Year
Listowel Writers' Week Poem of the Year