Welcome to the An Post Irish Book Awards 2022. 

Submissions of eligible titles are welcomed from 1st June until 31st August.

 Click Here


As we embark upon a new awards year, we do so more than ever convinced that Irish literature is the gift that keeps on giving. Irish writers have never been more prominent and well-respected globally and we are proud to celebrate their achievements annually in these awards.

Some wonderful books have been published already this year. Many more will follow in the coming months and the best of them will figure prominently in the quest for the glittering prizes come November. The shortlists will be announced on October 20th with the winners honoured at the Gala Dinner and Awards Ceremony on November 23rd in the Convention Centre Dublin. The bookings have been made and we are optimistic that the key events can be staged live and in-person this year.  It will be wonderful to meet up with old friends and share in the camaraderie that characterises the book business in Ireland.

To keep pace with developments, log in to the website regularly. Public voting will begin directly after the shortlist launch but meanwhile, here’s wishing you a wonderful summer. Keep reading! 

Some Key Dates for your Diary



Submissions Close



Shortlist Launch at The GPO, O’Connell Street



Winners Announced at The Convention Centre Dublin



An Post Irish Book of the Year TV show on RTÉ One & RTÉ Player

An Post Irish Book Awards Book of The Year 2021

A book that will remain important for a very long time – a reflection of who we are and where we came from. Truly, this is a book for the ages.

Judging Panel's Verdict

Recap the 2021 Winning Books & Authors

Teen & Young Adult Book of the Year
Listowel Writers' Week Poem of the Year
Writing.ie Short Story of the Year
Eason Novel of the Year
National Book Tokens Popular Fiction Book of the Year
Irish Independent Crime Fiction Book of the Year
Specsavers Children's Book of the Year (Senior)
Specsavers Children's Book of the Year (Junior)
Library Association of Ireland Author of the Year
Love Leabhar Gaeilge Irish Language Book of the Year
TheJournal.ie Best Irish Published Book of the Year
Odgers Berndtson Non-Fiction Book of the Year
Dubray Biography of the Year
Bookstation Lifestyle Book of the Year
Bookselling Ireland Cookbook of the Year
Eason Sports Book of the Year, in association with Ireland AM
Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year
RTÉ Audience Choice Award

Learn about our Judging Process

The An Post Irish Book Awards are different in character from conventional literary awards where winners attract the subjective approval of a jury normally comprising 3-5 judges. To decide fifteen awards in this way would be impractical and inimical to our aim to canvass the widest possible sector of the reading public.

Latest News

Explore the latest updates from the An Post Irish Book Awards

Murder One, Ireland’s International Crime Writing Festival, Returns!

Ireland’s International Crime Writing Festival, Returns 4 – 9 October 2022
The search is officially underway to find the ‘An Post Bookshop of the Year’ for 2022.
O’Brien Press founder Michael O’Brien dies at age of 81
APIBA Pays Tribute to Thomas Kinsella

Sponsors & Partners

Proudly Sponsored
by An Post

All Sponsors & Partners

Some kind words from guests and friends of the An Post Irish Book Awards

"The An Post Irish Book Awards took a fantastic campaign and reimagined it for an online world. The buy-in from all partners was clear to see, and the results were very good. Well done!"

Ivan O'Brien

Managing Director, The O'Brien Press

"Really fantastic media campaign this year, I thought, the APIBAs really were everywhere."

Joseph O'Connor

Award Winning Author

"You do an amazing job with these Awards and it’s so exciting for everyone involved with books in Ireland – the Awards have really added so much energy, excitement and debate."

Dr Marian Thérèse Keyes

Senior Executive Librarian, dlr LexIcon and Reader Development

“It was a wonderful night for Irish Authors and Irish Books and shows the literary talent that is in Ireland right now!”

Maire Logue

Festival Manager, Listowel Writers’ Week



Subscribe to the An Post Irish Book Awards newsletter

To keep up with all the latest news and information

Gallery Masonary

Watch the latest videos from the An Post Irish Book Awards

Or head to our media centre to look through our image galleries...